BookCon 2015!

Wow, so did BookCon 2015 actually happen?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I feel like this post will be less confusing if we both write about our own experiences, so without further ado…

Mariam’s Experience:

Woke up at 5 a.m., got on the train roughly at 8 a.m. or so, got inside at Javits Center by 9 am then waited for an hour until the Show Floor opened up. FIRST thing we saw after entering the Show Floor was Regan from PeruseProject on YouTube & Christine from polandbananasBOOKS on YouTube! Both Ashley and I went through the Show Floor and grabbed all the books we could. (We will have an entire post for our BookCon haul so watch out for that!) But we were able to get a big majority of our books signed! We first met Patty Blount and got my copy of Some Boys signed, then Ashley and I went on line to meet Jennifer L. Armentrout to get White Hot Kiss signed! After that, we both decided to relax for a while since we’ve been standing nearly all day at that point until I would start waiting on line for Sabaa Tahir & Renee Ahdieh! I was fortunate enough to have a line buddy, Kelly, from over at Live, Love, Read and she was an amazing person! I was also able to meet and talk to Brittany from Brittany’s Book Rambles throughout the day! After meeting the lovely Sabaa & Renee, I hopped onto line for Alexandra Bracken (which Ashley held my spot for me, you go girl!) After waiting 2 hours for Alex, both Ashley and I got to meet her and we both now have our entire trilogies signed & personalized! Yay!!! After meeting Alex, both Ashley and I went back to the booth area and snagged an ARC of Passenger by Alexandra Bracken which was by far the highlight of our ENTIRE DAY! After that I managed to meet Kat from Katytastic on YouTube! After that we had lunch and walked around some more in the booth area then left Javitis Center at around 6:15. (Which means I pretty much had a 12+ hour day and I was only running on 4 hours of sleep.) The entire day and the pain and the waiting forever on lines though was all well worth the experience!

Ashley’s Experience:

At 5:30 my alarm clock goes off, leaving me with three hours of sleep but that doesn’t phase me because its time to get ready for BookCon!! I got dressed and did what I needed to do so I can be on my way to meet Mariam at the train. Once we got to the Javits Center we had to walk all the way around the block to get on line but it moved quickly. We sat in the Queue Hall for about an hour before we were let onto the Show floor, at this point I’m bouncing up and down freaking out because I was about to be blessed with tons of books and swag. As soon as we were about to enter the Show Floor we seen Regan from PeruseProject on YouTube & Christine from polandbananasBOOKS so naturally we had to ask for a picture; they were so sweet!

First thing we did was head over to the Disney Hyperion booth because they were giving away awesome things, including a Magnus Chase shield which you will see in almost all the pictures I was in because I had it on my arm for most of the day. (Literally forgot it was on my arm until I seen the pictures, haha) We just walked around the Show Floor and grabbed everything we could. First autograph I got was from Patty Blount and she signed my copy of Some Boys. She had these set of cards which had Myths and Facts about rape which I personally thought was great that she was giving them out along with her books. After, we went to Jennifer L. Armentrout’s signing because we think she’s so awesome, I winded up getting another signed copy of White Hot Kiss and I got my Lux Beginnings copy signed by her also!

I went an hour and a half before Grace Helbig was due to sign and when I got there they already cut off her line because it was full so I decided to line up for Alexandra Bracken two hours before her signing. I was fourth in line to meet her and I was so excited because 1. She’s Alex and 2. I was about to have my copy of The Darkest Minds signed. Fun Fact: I got Never Fade signed at BookCon 2014 and In The Afterlight signed at Teen Author Carnival 2015 so now my whole trilogy is signed, woo!! After seeing Alex we decided to go see if Disney Hyperion might have any ARCs of Passenger, and guess what?? They had ONE left!!! We proceeded to scream while jumping up and down with joy; so we are now the proud owners of Passenger!!! Thats the last major thing we did. For the remainder of the time we were there we just walked around to see what cool things were going on and picking up a few goodies along the way.

The journey home was one filled with exhaustion but it was absolutely worth it because I had an amazing day!

Leave a Reply

