A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Review

16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Pages: 416

Format: Hardcover

Rating: 5/5

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Synopsis: 

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


REVIEW:

Let me start off by saying Sarah J. Maas, I love you!

The novel starts off with the protagonist, a nineteen-year-old huntress named Feyre, and she’s hunting in order to feed and provide for her family. The beginning left me feeling angry and sorry for Feyre because her family is very inconsiderate and self-serving. I was honestly hoping Feyre would smack some manners into her sister Nesta and smack some responsibility into her father. After Feyre kills the wolf and sells his fur, in comes our other half Tamlin wanting retribution. Tamlin is very reserved in the beginning but as the story goes on he opens up and becomes feisty; just the way I like my fictional men. Then we have Lucien, which I absolutely loved because he was so snarky and honest. I won’t talk about the other characters because I don’t want to spoil anybody!

I really loved this book because it made me have all these feelings and I really could connect with the characters. Maas writes so incredibly well and knows how to get your feelings going. I recommend you read A Court of Thorns and Roses if you love badass heroines, challenges and steam!

*SPOILER* Am I the only one who was angry because Feyre didn’t get upset when she found out the truth?

“His eyes locked on mine, wide and wild, and his nostrils flared. Shock–pure shock flashed across his features at whatever he saw on my face, and he stumbled back a step. Actually stumbled. ——– What did Rhysand see?? I need to know!!!*SPOILER*


If you read A Court of Thorns and Roses let me know your thoughts! If you haven’t read it; are you going to?

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Review

  1. lucia says:

    I loved this book and I was also so curious about what Rhysand saw. I mean are the readers just supposed to put two and two together because if thats the case then I’ll never figure it out. When Feyre found out the truth I had this huge oh moment and I don’t blame Feyre for not getting angry (it left more room for more action).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s