THE WRATH AND THE DAWN REVIEW

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Pages:  395

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Putnam

My Rating: 4.5/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by

A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend. She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all. _____________________________________________________________________

Review:

“…Love is a force unto itself, sayyidi. For love, people consider the unthinkable…and often achieve the impossible. I would not sneer at it’s power.”

Holy cow, I just really really really loved this book. This book popped up on my radar around January or so when someone mentioned it in their Highly Anticipated Books of 2015 and once I read the synopsis I knew it was a book for me.

So here’s the thing – I’m actually Egyptian, so when I did my research, I found out that the stories of The Arabian Nights are based in the Middle East, SO…that was just another reason I wanted to pick it up. OH, and of course, the amazing hype surrounding it also made me want to read it.

So basically, Shahrzad volunteers to be the caliph’s queen for a night knowing that the boy king takes a new queen every night and kills her at dawn the next day but she plans on killing him as revenge because he killed her best friend.This story is based off of A Thousand and One Nights so there are some moments where it is similar to it, BUT Ahdieh manages to create such a beautiful world with some of the best cast of characters I’ve read in a while. I really enjoyed reading Shahrzad’s point of view and her banter and cleverness and interactions with other characters. I loved her friendship with Despina and how that grew throughout the course of the book and how mature and relatable she came off as I was reading. Khalid was also an amazing character and as much as you wanted to hate him, you couldn’t because he was just so compelling and complex and amazing. Also, him and his banter with Jalal was life. Tariq was a character that I liked in the beginning, but as the novel progressed…I began to question him and what his plan was BUT I am highly anticipating the next installment, The Rose and the Dagger. So pretty much the characters are all A+++.

This is a fantastic, outstanding, and beautiful first book to a series. Renée blew my mind away in all the right ways. Such outstanding world building, a lovable set of characters, a clever plot and everything that a reader could possibly imagine wanting to fall in love with. Can we also take a moment please to appreciate Renée’s beautiful writing? This book was filled with such breath-taking quotes and the way she writes is FANTABULOUS (for lack of a better word). So please do yourself a favor and pick this book up! This book is definitely one of my favorites of the year so far and all time! If you’ve read it, what have your thoughts been on it? Share it in the comments!

6 thoughts on “THE WRATH AND THE DAWN REVIEW

  1. Brittany says:

    I didn’t read the part where you started getting into the details of the book because I don’t want any of it spoiled! I liked all of the other parts of your review though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

