REBOOT by Amy Tintera REVIEW!

rebootReboot by Amy Tintera

Pages:  365

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: HarperTeen

My Rating: 4/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: 

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation). Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum. The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

____________________________________________________________________

Review:

“Humans had a brightness to them, a glow that only death extinguished.”

What a good book! This book just goes to show that originality can pay off. Reboot centers around the concept of people (specifically teenagers) who can come back from the dead. Depending on how long they were dead, they can come back stronger as a result of how long they’ve been dead. Wren, our main character, died and was dead for 178 minutes, making her one of the strongest Reboots. When she sees a new batch of Reboots come into HARC one day, she gets ‘introduced’ to Callum, which is a 22, a record low reboot for Wren. Wren decides to train him into a stronger reboot and challenge herself into making him better, but it doesn’t stop there.

This book definitely promises for action, romance, conflict, and such amazing originality in a genre where it screams repeated ideas constantly. Amy does a fantastic job of incorporating snarky comments at the rights times, and writing action that will have you turning the page until you realize you’ve finished the book and want the second book. It’s good! There was a good set of side characters, but I wish we got to know them a bit more. Ever was an interesting character, and I feel that if this book was multiple perspectives, hers would be SO interesting. Also, I feel like Adina has so much potential as a character, and really enjoyed having her part of the cast closer to the end of the book. In terms of Wren and Callum, I loved their dynamic and how well they complimented each other. They helped each other develop so well and they just balanced each other out. If you were to compare the Callum we were introduced to from the beginning of the novel, to the Callum at the end, you wouldn’t even believe they were the same character. And he changed for the better and I love how he ends up being and ugh HE IS AWESOME. So all in all, Wren and Callum worked together so well.

Okay, so not every book is perfect and my issues with this book are that I just wanted more. I wanted more world-building, more details, more spark; just more. Every reader can usually tell whether a book has that spark, and this book lacked it, but I feel like if it did have that spark, it would’ve taken this novel to an entirely new level. The pacing was good, and the world-building just got a little confusing in the beginning a little,but that’s all. So many times while reading Reboot I found myself just wanting more detail, or a longer explanation/chapter about what was going on. Also, I don’t know if this makes me a bad reader but I just think there weren’t enough bad things going on. NOW, LET ME EXPLAIN MYSELF. Usually, bad events happen in the book and get in the way of the plot being resolved or blocks the ‘happily ever after’ ending. This book had so many coincidental happy go lucky moments resulting from bad events and I just wanted something bad to happen. There were moments of bad luck, but they escaped it all and survived. Maybe that’s just evil of me and I read too many books where authors want me to feel all the feels but, I know I’m not alone on this. But this could also be because this is the first book of the duology. *spoiler* (I know Ever died but…I wasn’t super invested into her character; she died too early in the novel.) Regardless of the minor things that affected my rating, this was a solid first book in a duology, and I’m hoping to get my hands on Rebel soon!

4 thoughts on “REBOOT by Amy Tintera REVIEW!

Leave a Reply

