Unwind by Neal Shusterman Review!

Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Pages:  335

Format: Paperback

My Rating: 5/5

SynopsisConnor, Risa, and Lev are running for their lives.
The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


Review: 

Amazing, amazing, amazing. If I love the rest of this Dystology as much as I love this first book then we might be looking at one of my favorite series…..but, let me not get too ahead of myself. The synopsis intrigued me awhile ago but I never felt the need to purchase this book until I saw it on Book Outlet and I figured, why not? Im so glad I added this to my cart because Neal Shusterman has me hooked!

This story is YA Science Fiction which I haven’t read much of and its set in the future after the Second Civil War like most wars some sort of Law or Laws must be passed to keep the peace. Behold:

The Bill of Life
“The Bill of Life stated that human life may not be touched from the moment of conception until a child reaches the age of thirteen.

However, between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, a parent may choose to retroactively “abort” a child…

…on the condition that the child’s life doesn’t “technically” end.

The process by which a child is both terminated and yet kept alive is called “unwinding.”

Unwinding is now a common and accepted practice in society.”

This book is mainly about three different kids who are going to be unwinded and how one accident can bring them all together. We first meet Connor who’s parents decided that unwinding him was the best decision for the family because he was kind of a loose cannon. Then we meet Risa, who’s a ward of the state who isn’t “special enough” to be kept around. Last but not least we meet Lev who was born just to be unwinded. This story has a lot of great supporting characters and back stories.

I really enjoyed this story because there was action from the beginning and there was never a dull moment. Unwind brought me out of my reading slump and I’m so thankful. The characters were amazing but what really had me hooked was how well everyones story flowed into one another. The way each story fit together had me screaming because it was so well thought out. There was a lot of moments in the book when I was surprised because of the truth that was revealed, its a real page turner!

There’s one character that I enjoyed immensely and am excited to see in the rest of the series; CyFi has my heart and nearly broke it but thats fine with me. I just need more of him and thats all I’m going to say regarding that matter because I’m trying so very hard not to spill my guts and feelings all over this post. No one likes spoilers!

I really recommend the shit out of this book! On a personal note, my birthday is next month and Im hoping I get this box set as a present or even the next book in the series. Mom, please! haha. Great book and super excited to continue with the story.


Have you read this? Let me know your thoughts! What are YOU reading at the moment? Any recommendations?

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Unwind by Neal Shusterman Review!

  1. Angelina @ Fable's Library says:

    One of the workers at the Barnes and Nobles store recommend this book to me 🙂 I haven’t read it (mostly because the unwinding thing make me uncomfortable xD) But I’ve heard such great things, I hope you continue to like the series and that you get the box set for your birthday. (Happy early birthday :D)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

