Eight Books We Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t Our Typical Genre/Type of Book

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish…AND…

This week’s topic is: Eight Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book.

*All hyperlinked book titles will direct you to our review of them

Mariam’s picks:

  1. Boomerang by Noelle August – I normally don’t read NA so this was definitely something out of my comfort zone! BUT, I did enjoy it and hope to read more NA this year.
  2. Red Rising by Pierce Brown: I hardly hardly ever reach voluntarily for science fiction, BUT I have figured out that I tend to like them after reading them. And Red Rising in no exception! Great book!
  3. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kauffman: Same situation with Red Rising, since I don’t pick up much science fiction but I also really enjoyed this one!
  4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: Confession time! I don’t like reading retellings so much? THIS BOOK IS AN EXCEPTION. I was so so nervous going into this book because I’m from the Middle East and was worried how Renee would go about this book but I was not disappointed and it’s one of my favorite books ever now!

Ashley’s picks:

  1. NOS4A2 by Joe Hill – I rarely read horror because it’s just hard for me to get into but I read this because during my time in school I had to choose a book and write a research paper about a topic in the novel so I chose this because it was sitting on my shelf and I just said why not? I really really enjoyed it!
  2. Falling into Place by Amy Zhang – Im not a huge fan of contemporary or physics for that matter but this novel is so beautifully written and eye opening that I had no choice but to love it.
  3. Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines – Again with the contemporary, not my genre but since this dealt with more serious subjects I enjoyed it.
  4. White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Ive never read anything about gargoyles and don’t have a fascination for them but I surprisingly enjoyed this novel.

 

4 thoughts on “Eight Books We Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t Our Typical Genre/Type of Book

  1. Lois says:

    Red Rising. I honestly thought the book was going to be really complicated with the sci-fi world/system Pierce created but I found it so easy to follow and the characters are just so well developed. I absolutely adore this series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

