The New Guy by Amy Spalding ARC Review!

tng.jpgThe New Guy (And Other Senior Distractions) by Amy Spalding

Pages:  320

Format:ARC (Thank you NOVL!)

Publisher: Poppy

My Rating: 3.75/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: A ridiculously cute, formerly-famous new guy dropping into your life? It’s practically every girl’s dream.

But not Jules McCallister-Morgan’s.

I realize that on paper I look like your standard type-A, neurotic, overachiever. And maybe I am. But I didn’t get to be the editor of my school’s long-revered newspaper by just showing up*. I have one main goal for my senior year-early acceptance into my first choice Ivy League college-and I will not be deterred by best friends, moms who think I could stand to “live a little,” or boys.

At least, that was the plan before I knew about Alex Powell**.

And before Alex Powell betrayed me***.

I know what you’re thinking: Calm down, Jules. But you don’t understand. This stuff matters. This is my life. And I’m not going down without a fight.

—-

* Okay, I sort of did. But it’s a sore subject.

** I mean, I guess everyone knows about Alex Powell? Two years ago, you couldn’t go anywhere without hearing about viral video boy band sensation Chaos 4 All. Two years ago, Alex Powell was famous.

***Some people think I’m overreacting. But this. Means. War.

First of all, I’d love to thank the lovely people at NOVL for sending me an ARC copy of The New Guy to review!

Second, I really did like this book! I am a sucker for musically inclined guys and I decided to go into this book not knowing anything so it was a pleasant surprise! There was humor which kept it a fun book and I laughed out loud at some parts. Jules was a really great character. School driven until musician Alex comes to attend their school. Jules is very relatable but the main thing that annoyed me about 55% in was that Alex & Jules were NOT communicating. I know that not every high schooler gains maturity during those years, but I believe basic communication is required. Most problems could’ve been solved through communication. But, there are themes of friendship and moving on from being a senior in HS to a freshman college and it’s very REAL, which is important. Besides that, Alex came off as a very platonic character to me. He seemed to only want to please the people around him (it got a tad annoying sometimes) and I just wanted him to have a personality and say MORE – to speak up for himself! All that being said, high schoolers come in many forms and shapes and sizes, they’re not all the time. And I’m definitely not like Jules or Alex or any character in that book BUT it is understandable to how they would act since high school is a time of hormones and uncontrollable emotions.

Although it sounds like I didn’t like it much, I DID! It was a fun and super quick read with friendship themes and a strong family/support system dealing with senior year of high school.

Leave a Reply

