Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys Review!

sttsSalt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Pages:  391

Format: ARC (Thank you, Cyra!)

Publisher: Philomel Books

My Rating: 4/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.

Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war.

As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.

Yet not all promises can be kept.

“Can history disappear if it’s written in blood?”

Holy guacomole. That was one heck of a ride for a book…let me start off by saying this…this book NEEDED to be written and should be read by ALL. I’m so glad my friend Cyra from Rattle the Pages sent me her ARC copy to read since she loved the story herself so much, and boy did she have a right to love the story so much. Each character was so interesting and covered a lot of what children and young adults felt throughout the war. It took me about 100-200 pages to really understand the characters. After that the story FLEW BY. All the characters and their stories intertwine so beautifully and it was just done SO well. This book is told from 4 POV’S. Joanna, Emilia, Alfred and Florian. Their paths cross and it just goes on from there. Each POV lasts several pages (no more than 10) and really helps to make the book fast-paced. For the first 150 pages though I didn’t feel as connected to the characters as I would’ve liked because of that format. BUT, none the less, I still love them. Like I said, Sepetys does an outstanding job of capturing the attitude of the war and a terrible tragedy. (And sadly one that not many people know about.) Each character embodies how people would feel during the war. Guilt, fear, tension, longing for hope, grief, misery, etc. She makes you feel for these characters. And like I said, it was a is a story that needed to be told. I highly highly recommend you all read it. Whether you LOVE historical fiction or not. It’s just one of those books.

5 thoughts on “Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys Review!

  1. Lois says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed this book and I definitely agree that this is a story worth telling. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the chapter format; some love it others hate it. I am so excited to read this book and I can’t wait to see how the characters come together in the face of such horrors.

    Like

    • flyingthroughfiction says:

      Definitely not everyone will adapt to the chapter format but it keeps the book fast-paces, which is great 200 pages in. It just took a while to care about the characters.Regardless, still a great book! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I really need to buy a copy of this! I read Between Shades of Gray and it’s easily one of my favorite books. I love that Sepetys writes about parts of history that a lot of people (or at least me) don’t know much/anything about and she writes beautifully.

    Like

  3. Cyra @ Rattle the Pages says:

    I keep meaning to comment on this review! I’m so so so glad that you loved it so much! I still need to pick up a copy of Between Shades of Gray! I need to pick that one up ASAP because if it’s even fractionally as good as this one, it will still be amazing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

