When We Collided Book Playlist

Hey everyone! SO…way back when there was a Twitter chat going on and I told people that if they wanted to guest post, they could! SO ALAS, today Holly from The Fox’s Hideaway is sharing her book playlist for When We Collided by Emery Lord! I’m currently reading this book, and I’ve gotta admit…these songs are pretty spot on! So enjoy!

A Book Playlist for When We Collided

1. Dibs by Kelsea Ballerini

Make everybody jealous

When I take you off the market

And get my lipstick on your right cheek

Cause boy I gotta mark it

Viv is totally the type of girl to get possessive about her man, or at least, want all the other girls to know he’s with her. She definitely had those moments in the book. :p I think this song is cute as hell! And I could totally see Vivi singing it, if she wasn’t a fictional character.

2. Confident by Demi Lovato

What’s wrong with being, what’s wrong with being,

What’s wrong with being confident?

Seriously, though, what’s so wrong with confidence? Vivi’s got enough to last for days, a
spark and liveliness to her that catches Jonah by surprise. And she’s definitely the bold
one in this relationship, the one who takes the lead and pushes her way into Jonah’s life,
and dives headfirst into this love and romance. It’s kinda great to see in YA actually!

3. A Little Bit Stronger by Sara Evans

I know my heart will never be the same,

But I’m telling myself I’ll be okay.

Even on my weakest days, I get a little bit stronger.

This song is a post-breakup one, but I think the theme of it can be applied to ANYTHING
painful or heartbreaking. And it’s a song of strength, about taking it day by day and
giving yourself time to move on. It can be applied to Vivi and Jonah because they’re both
working through some tough things, but they stay strong through it all, even on the bad
days.

4. Fight Song

This is my fight song

Take back my life song

Prove I’m alright song

This song is so, so perfect for anyone who is or has ever dealt with anything hard, who’s
ever had to fight, who’s ever wanted to take back their lives, prove that they can defeat
whatever demons they have. And it’s perfect for this book. Like if I can imagine Vivi
herself singing any song, it would be this one.

5. You Should Be Here by Cole Swindell

They say now you’re in a better place

And I would be too if I could see your face.

And you know that if I had just one wish, it’d be that you didn’t have to miss this

You should be here.

My heart hurt for Jonah and his loss. For this beautiful boy who steps in when all he
wants to do is break down. For this wonderful guy who would give just one chance to see
his loved one again, to hear his voice. Loss is painful at any age, but when you’re a teen,
it’s especially visceral and gut-wrenching. And this song gets grief.
She’s so complicated; that’s the way God made her

6. Perfect Storm by Brad Paisley

She’s Sunday drive meets high-speed chase

She ain’t just a song, she’s the whole mixtape

Sunshine mixed with a little hurricane

This song could actually be written about a person with bipolar disorder, my mom once
told me. So when I was looking for songs for this playlist, I remembered this one, and
knew it was fitting for Vivi. Sunshine mixed with a little hurricane; someone who is
bright and vibrant, but who also has her dark moments, ones that can sweep everyone
into the storm with her.

7. Shake It Off by Taylor Swift

I stay up too late, got nothing in my brain

That’s what people say, that’s what people say

I go on too many dates, but I can’t make ‘em stay

At least that’s what people say, that’s what people say

You know I gotta put my girl Taylor on here. It took me awhile to come up with THE T-
Swift song for this, but then I immediately was like shake it off. Because that’s what Vivi
does. She shakes off the noise and the disappointment, stands up for herself and says You
know what? No, I’m not going to apologize for who I am and what I do. It’s not always
the best way to go about things for sure, but I admired her unapologetic boldness. Not to
mention, this is just a fun song to dance to when you need a pick-me-up. 😀

8. Hard to Love by Lee Brice

I am a short fuse, I am a wrecking ball

Crashing into your heart like I do

Vivi makes nothing easy, for the readers or for Jonah. But I love this bold and beautiful
girl, because while she can be selfish and mean and possessive, she’s so real and honest
and worth it. She might be a hard person to love, but Jonah loves her for who she is, and
that person deserves to be loved no matter how hard she is on people.

9. Storm Warning by Hunter Hayes

Have you ever noticed every hurricane

Gets its name from a girl like this?

She’s a cat 5 kind, keeps you up at night

Hangin’ on to the edge of a kiss

I know I already have Perfect Storm on this list, but gah, I want them both. I think they both fit
Vivi, and subsequently how Jonah feels about her, well.

10. I Can’t Let Go by Jennifer Hudson

I’m just a witness to my lifetime

And I’m a stranger to my friends

Of broken, damaged hearts

I’m a trafficker

Vivi is hiding, from her past and the friendships she damaged, the memories. She’s hiding from her diagnosis and refuses to accept it. She might always be smiling, but she’s angry. At herself, at her mom, at the people who just can’t seem to understand her. She KNOWS she needs to act better, to try more, but she can’t let go of things. I also think this can fit Jonah, and how he and his family haven’t been able to let go of their loved one.

11. I Am Invincible by Cassadee Pope

I’m invincible

I’m unbreakable

I’m a diamond cut to last

I’m unstoppable

This is another song of strength that I love, another song for the fighters and the warriors,
for the girls who need a pick-me-up, for those who feel broken and down and who need a
reminder that they’ve got this. ❤

12. Live Forever by The Band Perry

This time, I want it all

I want it right now, wanna feel the fall

This is a song that I can’t really EXPLAIN why it fits When We Collided, except that Jonah’s
and Vivi’s romance was a whirlwind of passion and warmth, and it was like they both fell fast and hard, as if they were running out of time. But they live it up in the book, and they act as if they have forever.

***

Ah, I know there’s a lot of country on this list, but that’s because it’s what I listen to most often. Haha. I’ve branched out more in the last year or so, but not very much, so I don’t know a lot of music in other genres. I mostly listen to specific artists when it comes to different genres. But yeah, I hope you like the playlist! 

**I do want to make a note that any of the songs I used to talk about Vivi (her mental health and her personality) is not meant to make fun of it or her. They’re just meant to showcase When We Collided and its characters and the romance, but in a musical way. Of course, not all of the lyrics in these songs will fit, but I think the messages/themes in them do. And I hope I did the book justice!

 

You can listen to the playlist on Spotify HERE!

One thought on “When We Collided Book Playlist

Leave a Reply

