The Burning Sky Review!

tbs.jpg

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

Pages:  475

Format: E-book

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

My Rating: 4.5/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

It all began with a ruined elixir and a bolt of lightning.

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother’s visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission—and her life.

“…we will never accomplish anything worthwhile in life if we require the guarantee of success at the onset.”

This. Book. Is. So. Good.

Are you looking for a fantasy with some awesome main characters, romance AND magic? Look no further, friends. I highly recommend you all pick this book up. I’m personally always very iffy about fantasy books because sometimes world-building can get confusing, or I won’t like the characters, etc. But I was 10% into this book, then ordered the rest of the trilogy in that moment. That’s how much I enjoyed it.

So we have our female MC (the chosen one trope – which I have now come to love) is really awesome at magic (an elemental mage) and because of this, her destiny coincides with Titus, who is prince at the moment and they embark on a mission together.

When I read books usually, in general, I tend to be more character oriented. Meaning if I don’t like the characters, I will not like the book. In this case, I loved Titus and Iolanthe and the group of side characters that we meet when they change their setting (A BOARDING SCHOOL! AN ALL MALE BOARDING SCHOOL! It’s so much fun you guys, I promise). But what’s really amazing is that I didn’t feel overwhelmed with this new world and Thomas did an absolutely amazing job introducing everything to us and making me want to the read the rest of the series (which is always their goal, I’m assuming). What did really get me though was the romance in this novel. And because I enjoyed the romance between the two MC’s and the characters themselves, I cared so much more for the story and was realllly invested into it.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was that they travel in a very special way throughout the novel and sometimes it just got really confusing. Granted, it might’ve been because I wasn’t concentrating and following 100% into the story but it’s a minor thing that bugged me.

All in all, AMAZING story and novel. I can not wait to continue on with this trilogy! (While we’re at it, let’s all just stare and gawk at the cover. Shall we? It’s beautiful and I’m sad I read this book as an E-book. BUT ALAS, I do have the rest of the trilogy of PB’s.)

2 thoughts on “The Burning Sky Review!

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    OH MY GOSH YOU HAVE ME SUPER EXCITED! This book is on my tbr so I’ll have to push it up because I do love a good fantasy and your review literally sold me on this book 🙂 Lovely review 🙂
    (the cover is totally beautiful!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

