WAITING ON WEDNESDAY #25

WAITING ON” WEDNESDAY IS A WEEKLY EVENT, HOSTED BY BREAKING THE SPINE, THAT SPOTLIGHTS UPCOMING RELEASES THAT WE’RE EAGERLY ANTICIPATING.

amtr

Written by: Gwen C. Katz

Release Date: October 3rd, 2017

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 Synopsis:

World War Two has shattered Valka’s homeland of Russia, and Valka is determined to help the effort. She knows her skills as a pilot rival the best of the men, so when an all-female aviation group forms, Valka is the first to sign up.

Flying has always meant freedom and exhilaration for Valka, but dropping bombs on German soldiers from a fragile canvas biplane is no joyride. The war is taking its toll on everyone, including the boy Valka grew up with, who is fighting for his life on the front lines.

As the war intensifies and those around her fall, Valka must decide how much she is willing to risk to defend the skies she once called home.

Inspired by the true story of the airwomen the Nazis called Night Witches, Gwen C. Katz weaves a tale of strength and sacrifice, learning to fight for yourself, and the perils of a world at war.

Fun fact about Mariam: I love learning about World War 2. I watch documentaries about it all the time. Like, at least once a month. This obsession definitely crosses over into my love for fiction literature. It’s upsetting that I haven’t read AS many WW2 novels as I would like (I have a bunch that I own but haven’t read yet) but I am SUPER excited about this novel by Katz! The fact that our MC in a PILOT IS SO AMAZING. YOU GO GIRL. And the tragedy/emotion that is associated with such a tragedy is what makes me so pumped for this book – knowing I’m going to feel all the feels. (Also, it’s based on a true story, oh my gosh. I am SOLD.)

 

Is this on your TBR? Are you just as excited as I am? DOESN’T IT SOUND AMAZING?

Leave a Reply

