Top Ten Best Aca-Arrangements in the Aca-world!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish…AND…

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Best Aca-Arrangements in the Aca-world!

Well..well..well…here we are…

Some of you might recall a recent Waiting on Wednesday post where I talked about my anticipation for Noteworthy by Riley Redgate. One of the reasons why I’m so excited for it is because it’s a spin on acapella and recently (psh, over the past 3-4 years) I’ve fallen deeply in love with this genre of music and treasure it so so much. After having listened to thousands of arrangements of covers and originals, I want to share my 10 favorite ones! WHICH WILL BE HARD, but I will try to do my fellow aca-lovers justice by sharing the best of the best!

I hope you can find your next favorite arrangement or group from this post! Let me know your thoughts in the comments below! I’d love to hear them! (Disclaimer: These are all my personal favorites! If you don’t like them, I understand! But these are my personal favorites, thanks!) 🙂

  1. Mike Tompkins – Skrillex Cinema & Santigold Disparate Youth Acapella Remix [x]

    So..Mike Tompkins is an old time favorite acapella artist I discovered YEARS ago and have gotten to see live twice. This arrangement however is one of his BEST. He does it live and uses his launchpad and he’s absolutely amazing and extremely talented. Just listen to it and thank me later. 🙂

  2. SoCal Vocals – Crazy Natalie [x]


    The arrangement to this song is golden. And this is one of the absolute best collegiate acapella groups to exist honestly. (Along with Voices in Your Head & the Nor’easters). I first listened to this song and thought it was just ONE song. BUT IT IS A MASHUP OF 2 SONGS. TWO!!! T W O!!!!!!!! I know it’s partly my part for not knowing they were different songs but it’s mashed up so well and it’s seamless. I could listen to this arrangement for centuries. 

  3. Voices in Your Head – Bang My Head [x]


    Please just listen to this song and tell me you aren’t blown away. The technicality of all those voices singing as one and delivering such a beautiful performance…wow. I also can’t stop falling in love with the main performers voice over and over again – it’s absolutely breath taking and her solos are AMAZINNGGGGGGG. They’re such a great group over all. 

  4. Rip_Chord – Too Close [x]


    My favorite thing is when acapella groups take pop songs from the radio and then make them sound even better than the original and put it to shame. THE BASS ON THIS TRACK IS SICK. You’ll get a cold, it’s that bad. (And by bad, I mean amazing.) Also the vocals. *melts* It’s just amazing y’all. I can’t. Every time I listen to this song I melt into a puddle of emotions and tears. It hurts. 

  5. The Nor’easters – Elastic Heart [x


    If you follow anyone in the collegiate acapella music world, you’ll know that the Nor’easters are the best of the best. I’m serious y’all. They are the epitome of song arrangements. Not only that but their vocals back it up and UGH SO GOOOOOD. The vocals in Elastic Heart are really outstanding and it really showcases their talent and I love it with all my heart. 

  6. Pentatonix – Aha [x]


    Oh my…this one was hard to pick but gosh. Not really, no. Mitch’s voice in this song is the epitome of everything the world has to offer. I got to see this live and it left me nearly dead on the floor. I have NEVER listened to a group so coherently good and amazing as Pentatonix. They are the definition of flawless. If by some strage and odd reason you’ve never heard of Pentatonix before, please listen to this and prepared to be blown away. (Also, they have the BEST beatboxer/bass duo I’ve ever seen in acapella so…that says something…) 

  7. Vocal Spectrum – Aladdin Medley [x]


    As much as I loooove my big collegiate acapella groups, this is a quartet of men that have ranges that SCARE me because oh my gosh. I have never heard such beautiful notes being hit before. AND IT’S ALADDIN, so by default you cannot fight me on this one. Also, if you listen to it, please listen to the final note of the performance. You will be in shock. In awe. In amazement. It’s beautiful, amazing and spectacular. Pure magic. 

  8. BYU Vocal Point – Beat It [x]
     

    I’m a big fan of Michael Jackson’s big songs and it’s very very hard to find good covers, let alone ACAPELLA COVERS. But, this one is fabulous. This is such a classic arrangement to listen to It’s such much fun and the vocals are ON POINT. It’s a beautiful take on the original song with such a fun spunky-ness to it! Highly recommend 🙂

     

  9. Tufts sQ! – Hit ‘Em Up Style (Oops!) / No Scrubs / Bootylicious [x]  


    Fun fact, I love the song NO SCRUBS, but I hate the original. I have loved every. single. cover. of this song. Acapella or not. BUT, the Tufts really outdo themselves with this arrangement because it is so much fun and absolutely amazing. It just feels like a classic arrangement and it’s one of my favorites! 

  10.  Vanderbilt Melodores – Talk Dirty [x]

    Wow. Okay, first of all. Let’s talk about that beatboxing intro, yes? I beatbox a bit myself so I am ALWAYS fascinated by other beatboxers and he does an amazing job at the intro here. Also, the Melodores have some of the BEST stage presence I’ve seen a collegiate group have, so……And uhm. The male leads for this song….honestly, I can’t say anything without you listening to the song and flailing over it with me. They are hands down some of the BEST MALE VOICES I’VE EVER HEARD. There, I said it. That’s it. I will say no more. 

*MIC DROP*

I really hope you guys enjoyed this post because I had SO MUCH fun writing it! If you listen to any of these songs, I’d love to hear your thoughts & comments about them! Thanks again y’all 🙂

One thought on “Top Ten Best Aca-Arrangements in the Aca-world!

  1. Creatyvebooks says:

    I think I only heard of Pentatonix. Which is sad because I love music. I will to give these songs on your list a try. I’ll let you know my verdict after I finish listening. Great and fun post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

