Blog Tour: First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy – Favorite YA Friendships + Giveaway!

FIRST WE WERE IV - tour banner.png

Hey everyone! Welcome to this stop of the First We Were IV blog tour hosted by the lovely Brittany from Brittany’s Book Rambles! First We Were IV is being published on July 25, 2017 (7/25/17) and it’s a YA thriller! There’s not enough thriller in YA, but with that being said, there’s a strong central theme of friendship in this novel and today I’ll be highlighting some of my favorite YA friendships in general!

So without further ado…here’s what First We Were IV is about:

FIRST WE WERE IV - cover

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

First We Were IV by Alexandra Sirowy

Publication Date: July 25th, 2017

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

A group of friends start a secret society in this out-of-control thriller from the author of The Telling and The Creeping that examines the all-consuming love of lifelong friendship—and what someone is capable of when they’re afraid of losing it. Izzie loves nothing more than her three best friends, Viv, Graham, and Harry, and the bond the four of them share. And she’s terrified of their friendship falling apart next year when they go off to college. To bind them together, she decides to create that will belong only to them, a special thing that they’ll always share between the four of them. And so they dream up the Order of IV, a secret society devoted to mischief that rights wrongs and pays back debts. At first, it works like a charm—but when the Order of IV’s escapades get recognition beyond their wildest expectations, other people start wanting in. And soon, what started as a game of friendship is spiraling into something dangerous and beyond their control—and before it’s over, they’ll pay the ultimate sacrifice.

Disclaimer: All content directly from First We Were IV (such as quotes and excerpts) is taken directly from an advanced reader’s copy of the book. Therefore, it is not to be separately quoted from due to the fact that it is not in its final publication form.

Continue reading

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY #30

WAITING ON” WEDNESDAY IS A WEEKLY EVENT, HOSTED BY BREAKING THE SPINE, THAT SPOTLIGHTS UPCOMING RELEASES THAT WE’RE EAGERLY ANTICIPATING.

invic.jpg

Written by: Ryan Graudin

Release Date: September 19th, 2017

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 Synopsis:

Time flies when you’re plundering history.

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far’s birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he’s ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.
But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far’s very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.

In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

RYAN GRAUDIN CAN DO NO WRONG, FRIENDS. I will read anything Ryan writes and I just neeeed this book. I’ve been able to read her Wolf by Wolf duology AND meet her and gosh she’s such a pleasure to hear talk! Not only that but GOSH her writing is beautiful. And she comes up with the most interesting, absurd and amazing things. This book sounds like something up my alley and we both like the same historical time periods. I have a HUGE fascination with Rubik’s Cubes and the Titanic mystery (the actual ship…) and both are included in this book. So. CAN YOU SEE WHY I NEEEEED it? And I’m more than certain you need it too. Graudin does not disappoint!

 

Make sure you guys add this onto your TBR y’all! 🙂

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY #29

WAITING ON” WEDNESDAY IS A WEEKLY EVENT, HOSTED BY BREAKING THE SPINE, THAT SPOTLIGHTS UPCOMING RELEASES THAT WE’RE EAGERLY ANTICIPATING.

imageedit_2_4229066129.jpg

Written by: McKelle George

Release Date: September 19th, 2017

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 Synopsis:

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer. Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

Okay, someone please tell me I’m not the only one alone in loving this cover. It’s so dreamy and just look at how elegant it looks! That pink/purple background! The silhouette! The art! MY HEART. Sheesh, and not only that BUT the book sounds amazing! I’m not familiar with the Shakespeare book it’s retelling, but I’m sure this will be nothing than amazing. I have a looove for reading books with boarding schools. I am also a sucker for romance and I can’t wait to see how all these characters’ lives intertwine!

Anyone else have this gorgeous book on their radar as well? 🙂

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY #28

WAITING ON” WEDNESDAY IS A WEEKLY EVENT, HOSTED BY BREAKING THE SPINE, THAT SPOTLIGHTS UPCOMING RELEASES THAT WE’RE EAGERLY ANTICIPATING.

oafa.jpg

Written by: Sarah Dessen

Release Date: June 6th, 2017

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 Synopsis:

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen’s thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

I’ve managed to read three of Dessen’s books (Saint Anything / The Moon and More / This Lullaby) and only loved Saint Anything (disliked the other two) which makes me hesitant to read this book BUT I have no doubt that I’m going to love it. Ambrose sounds like an amazing love interest and Louna sounds like the cautious lover that we all may be. All in all, this one sounds amazing and I seriously cannot wait to get my hands on it and devour it! DURING THE SUMMER TIME TOO! Perfect time to be reading a contemporary with a mom characters that’s a wedding planner!

 

Is this one on your TBR? I’m really looking forward to the release of Once and For All!