The Sun is Also a Star ARC Review!

tsiaas

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Pages:  344

Format: ARC (Thank you, Ellie!)

Publisher: Delacorte Press

My Rating: 4.5/5

GoodReads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 

Talk about a book that’s not just immensely relevant to this day and age but also written beautifully and wonderfully!

The Sun is Also a Star was such a personal read for me from a really early point in the novel. The novel follows two main characters, Daniel & Natasha. Both have families that immigrated to America in hopes for a better life. Through a bunch of events, they end up meeting and spending their day together.

The only thing that I didn’t love about this novel was how often things just worked out. Things were cliche and not entirely believable. WHICH IS OKAY! Fiction stays fiction for a reason. Besides that, the story was lovely, as were the characters.

Another thing that was amazing about this novel were the short chapters! If life didn’t get in the way, I could’ve totally read this in a span of HOURS. That’s how good it was AND captivating. Yoon’s writing style is so poetic, simple and beautiful.

The story had humor, heart break, moments of seriousness and made me feel everything. I felt everything because the story was so personal and accurate. This story is not far-fetched. Immigration is a very real thing. And this was just the story of two immigrants falling in love. And the ending made me really happy. I was totally content with it.

Overall, just pick up this story. PLEASE. It is so important to read and Yoon does an AMAZING job talking about such shied away topics with amazing characters and a beautiful love story.

2 thoughts on “The Sun is Also a Star ARC Review!

Leave a comment